Arthur J. Schmitt Future Leaders Scholarship

The College of Business Center for Values-Driven Leadership (CVDL) custom-designed the Schmitt Future Leaders Development Program, to bring undergraduate students leading best practices in values-driven leadership. Each Schmitt Scholar completes more than 20 hours of interactive learning in workshops, plus continuous mentoring throughout the academic year.Individuals and teams select, design, implement and evaluate a major service learning project to achieve their leadership goals, beyond current individual skill and leadership experience. The program culminates with a formal presentation to the Arthur J. Schmitt Foundation board, BU deans, academic advisors, and parents.Each Scholar subsequently receives an evaluation on this presentation from College of Business faculty and program leaders. Scholars submit a reflective evaluation on their leadership development. 

Arthur J. Schmitt Future Leader Development Stages

Within the context of Benedictine University Mission and Common Learning Objectives, the central component of the Future Leaders Scholarship Program is development of the Future Leader Scholars' leadership capacities. We require more than 20 hours of formal leadership development from each Schmitt Scholar and additional ongoing mentoring throughout the academic year, described below in each of its five stages.

  1. The first stage is a one-hour student leadership orientation. This orientation was for general introductions and orients the students to the expectations of the Schmitt Scholar Future Leaders Program.
  2. The second stage is a one-day leadership development workshop, consisting of four modules:
  3. The third stage is a formal dinner in which the Schmitt Future Student Leaders meet with Schmitt Foundation Board members, to introduce their service-learning project proposals
  4. The fourth stage involves the scholarship recipients implementing their service projects in collaboration with one another or individually
  5. Scholar presentations fulfill the fifth stage, formal presentations


Arthur J. Schmitt's lifelong quest for ethical and actionable leadership for organizations and the young men he taught in an enriched and accelerated program designed to prepare them for industrial and civic responsibility is engendered within Benedictine University's Arthur J. Schmitt Future Leaders Scholarship Program.

The Arthur J. Schmitt Foundation, which he established to improve society through conscientious and enlightened leadership, has generously supported the Scholarship Program for over 5 years.  The College of Business and the Center For Values-Driven Leadership (CVDL), which offers research, education and outreach opportunities to help business leaders forge new paths to profitability have partnered to offer an experience through leadership development workshops and directed mentoring to Future Leader Scholars in developing future servant-leaders. 

In 2007, The Arthur J. Schmitt Foundation wanted to forge new in-roads with Benedictine University by creating an environment that Arthur J. Schmitt passed on his knowledge, skills, and compassion to students, by building a program that coincides with the vision of the Foundation.  The College of Business and the newly formed Center for Values-Driven Leadership initiated the program.  The new program was styled after the workshops done through Arthur J. Schmitt with an emphasis around Robert Greenleaf's definition of "Servant-Leadership" as well as Jim Collin's "Level 5 Leadership" in which learning exercises were combined with individual learning styles and leadership simulations. 

Program Administrators

The Arthur J. Schmitt Foundation Future Leaders Scholarship program is jointly administered by the Benedictine University Chief Grant Officer, Meagan Daniel with the College of Business.  Dean Sandra Gill, Ph.D., College of Business; Professor James Ludema, Ph.D., Program Director, Center for Values-Driven Leadership, and Eric Goodwin, M.S., Project Manager review applications, conduct the leadership program and implement continuous improvement. The Benedictine University Coordinator for Stewardship provides administrative support for the promotion, application and award processes consistent with University policies and procedures.

Arthur J. Schmitt Scholar Alumni


Fatima Ansari - Biology
Adam Beans - Psychology
Heriberto Diaz - Political Science
Katherine Ebeling - Elementary Education
Samantha Jones - Communication Arts
Mike Rivera - Management & Organization Behavior
Megan Steiner - Mathematics
Alena Thomas - Biology
Alexis Wadowski - Mathematics & Physics
Brittany Wolski - Special Education


Ayat Abuakar -- Special Education
Mary Adams -- Special Education
Jenny Albert -- Elementary Education
Mohammed Ahmed -- Biology
Earl Carlos -- Theology
Caroline Ebeling -- Elementary Education
Dina Elgowainy -- Health Science
Amina Ghalyoun -- Biology
Mariam Saeed -- Health Science
Victoria Victorenko -- Psychology


Firas Adhami -- Health Science
Ammar Ahmed -- Biology
Jenny Albert -- Elementary Education
Lidia Arias -- Management & Organization Behavior
Katherine Braun -- Elementary Education
Eraj Din -- Biology
Caroline Ebeling -- Elementary Education
James Hanley -- Special Education
Dinesh Vemuri -- Accounting & Finance
Brittany Wolski -- Special Education


Ayat Abuakar -- Special Education
Sean Callahan -- Psychology
Nicholas Dobes -- Chemistry
Caroline Ebeling -- Elementary Education
David Ebeling -- Philosophy
Jennifer Erickson -- English
Uzma Kothawala -- Health Science
Fadi Shihadeh -- Biochemistry/Molecular Biology
Azfar Uddin -- Elementary Education
Victoria Victorenko -- Psychology

Image Gallery

DSC00027 Schmitt 2011 006

Class of 2009-10                     Class of 2010-2011 

College of Business
benedictine university

John Minogue, Ph.D., Acting Dean
Dawn Smith, Assistant to the Dean
Phone: (630) 829-6463
Fax: (630) 829-6226

Scholl Hall, Room 109
5700 College Road
Lisle, IL 60532
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.