Faculty

Faculty Highlights


Heather Sipsma, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor, Public Health) recently has had three manuscripts published, including the following:

Sipsma HL, Ruiz E, Jones K, Magriples U, Kershaw T. (in press). Effect of breastfeeding on postpartum depressive symptoms among young mothers. Journal of Maternal-Fetal & Neonatal Medicine.
Sipsma HL, Canavan M, Gilliam M, Bradley EH. (in press). The impact of social service and public health spending on teenage birth rates across the United States: A serial cross-sectional study. BMJ Open.
Sipsma HL, Jones K, Nickel NC. (in press). Hospital practices to promote breastfeeding: does maternal age matter?  Birth.


Bonnie Beezhold, PhD, MHS, CHES (Assistant Professor, Nutrition) published an article that was also chosen as the Editor's choice for the June 2018 issue.

"Vegans report less bothersome vasomotor and physical menopausal symptoms than omnivores."

Beezhold B., Radnitz C., McGrath, RE, Feldman A.

Maturitas. 2018 Jun; 112:12-17 doi: 10.1016/j.maturitas.2018.03.009. Epub 2018 Mar 14.

PMID: 29704911


The COEHS Fifth Annual Faculty Research Forum was held April 25, 2018 with the following faculty presenting:

Julie Moreschi MS, RD, LDN   (Dietetic Internship Director Nutrition)
"FORWARD, Fighting Obesity Reaching Healthy Weight Among Residents of DuPage: Overview of the Initiative & Current Data Trends."

Gena Lewis, Ed.D. and Kathy Liace EdD (Assistant Professor, Education)
"Misguided Standards Based Instruction - The Chaos of Standards Based Instruction and Assessment: How to organize and plan Instruction and Assessment in K-6 classrooms."

Heather Sipsma PhD (Assistant Professor, Public Health)
"Is hospital postpartum breastfeeding support provided differently across maternal race/ethnicity groups?"

Deb Jezuit PhD, RN  (Assistant Professor, Nursing)
"Integreating the Benedictine Values and Evaluating Expressions of Caring in an Online Graduate Nursing Program."


Dr. Pat Brown (Assistant Professor, Nursing) has been selected as a member of the Editorial Board of the Nursing and Healthcare International Journal.


Dr. Pat Brown (Assistant Professor, Nursing) had an editorial published in Nursing & Healthcare International Journal online on May 2, 2018. 


Dr. Margaret Delaney (Assistant Professor, Nursing) presented Adult Nursing Students Persisting Toward Degree Completion: A Case Study of an RN to BSN Accelerated Program at the NLN conference on September 15th.


Dr. Margaret Delaney (Assistant Professor, Nursing) in collaboration with RN to BSN students, as part of the University's Teach-In on Race and Social Justice (March 5, 2018), will present presented "Social Determinants of Health" in an afternoon break-out session.


Dr. Gina Panozzo (Assistant Professor, Nursing) had a poster presentation entitled "Online Teaching Strategies" at the APNA IL Chapter Fall Seminar for NUrse Educators on 11/9/18.


Dr. Gina Panozzo (Assistant Professor) had two articles published in "Home Healthcare Now" in 2018 titled "A Day in the Life of a Psychiatric Home Care Nurse" and "Reach for the Stars".


 Dr. Elizabeth Ritt (Professor, Nursing) had a poster presentation entitled "Identification of High Risk Patients for Readmission to the Hospital from the Post-Acute Setting" at the Advocate Nursing Research Symposium on 4/17/18.


Dr. Elizabeth Ritt (Professor, Nursing) was also recently elected to serve on the CCNE Board of Commissioners for a three year term that begins in January 2018.

 

 

Staff

Adjunct Faculty

Scroll to the right to view more
Name Department Email
Sheila Campbell, Ph.D., RD Nutrition scampbell@ben.edu
Maureen Casten, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mcasten@ben.edu
Jan Dowell, M.S., M.H.S., R.D., C.S.S.D. Nutrition jdowell@ben.edu
Lynn Dugan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition ldugan@ben.edu
David Grotto, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition dgrotto@ben.edu
Michel Harris, M.S., R.D., L.D.N., C.D.E. Nutrition MHarris@ben.edu
Kelly Knopf, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition kknopf@ben.edu
Annie Murphy, MPH, RDN, LDN Nutrition amurphy@ben.edu
Teresa Pangan, Ph.D., R.D.N. Nutrition tpangan@ben.edu
Monica Pawasarat, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mpawasarat@ben.edu
Linda Roberts, MS, RD, LDN Nutrition lroberts@ben.edu
Laurie Schubert, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition lschubert@ben.edu
Jodie Shield, M.Ed., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jshield@ben.edu
Anna Shlachter, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition ashlachter@ben.edu
Traci Wessel, M.S., R.D., C.S.G., L.D.N. Nutrition twessel@ben.edu
College of Education and Health Services
Benedictine University

Christopher Duffrin, Ph.D.
Dean of the College of Education and Health Services

Erica George
Assistant to the Dean

Email: egeorge@ben.edu
Phone: (630) 829-6084

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -  4:30 p.m.

By Mail:
Benedictine University
5700 College Road
Kindlon Hall, Room 258
Lisle, IL 60532

Fax: (630) 829-6281