Faculty

Faculty Highlights


Bonnie Beezhold, Ph.D., CHES (Nutrition) presented research at the Experimental Biology Conference in Chicago, April 21-25, 2017.  Her poster was titled "Greater Fluid Intake is Associated with Cognitive Performance in College Students" was based on data from one of the MS in Nutrition and Wellness thesis projects from 2016.


Karen Plawecki, Ph.D., RD, LDN (Nutrition) presented a poster at Environmental Biology Conference in Chicago, April 21-25, 2017:  "Health and Wellness in the College Population:  Dietary & Lifestyle Contributions to Bone Health."  The study was done with Bonnie Beezhold, PhD, CHES (Nutrition) as well as three previous MS in Nutrition and Wellness Graduate Students (Tammy Chen, MS, RD, Chris Cundari, MS, and Hannah Sabella, MD, RDN, LDN).


Heahter Sipsma, Ph.D. (Public Health) recently has had three manuscripts published, including the following:

Sipsma HL, Ruiz E, Jones K, Magriples U, Kershaw T. (in press). Effect of breastfeeding on postpartum depressive symptoms among young mothers. Journal of Maternal-Fetal & Neonatal Medicine.
Sipsma HL, Canavan M, Gilliam M, Bradley EH. (in press). The impact of social service and public health spending on teenage birth rates across the United States: A serial cross-sectional study. BMJ Open.
Sipsma HL, Jones K, Nickel NC. (in press). Hospital practices to promote breastfeeding: does maternal age matter?  Birth.



The COEHS Fourth Annual Faculty Research Forum was held March 28, 2017 with the following faculty presenting:

James Pelech, Ed.D.   (Education)
"The Quizzing Process as an Instrument of Learning."

Jamal Scott, Ed.D.  (Higher Education, Guest Presentation)
"Trends in Higher Education."

Susan Hovey Ph.D., RN (Nursing)
"The Effect of First Clinical Assignments on Prelicensure Nursing Students Attitudes Toward Persons Who are Aged."

Bonnie Beezhold, Ph.D.  (Nutrition)
"Faith-based Community Health Needs Assessment:  A COEHS collaborative study."

David Milen, Ph.D. (Public Health)
"Stressors encountered by RSM employees, one of the top financial firms in Shanghai, China."


David Milen (Assistant Professor, Public Health) and Beth Bormann (Instructor, Public Health) collaborated with the Environmental Protection Agency and the City of Aurora, IL to develop a radon testing awareness program to promote radon testing in all rental properties located within Aurora, IL.  This project was completed during the (2017) summer months.


Dr. Pat Brown (Assistant Professor, Nursing) has been selected as a member of the Editorial Board of the Nursing and Healthcare International Journal.


Dr. Margaret Delaney (Assistant Professor, Nursing) presented Adult Nursing Students Persisting Toward Degree Completion: A Case Study of an RN to BSN Accelerated Program at the NLN conference on September 15th.


Dr. Alison Ridge (Assistant Professor, Nursing) and Dr. Elizabeth Ritt (Professor, Nursing) had an article published in The Journal of Faculty Development.

Ridge, A., & Ritt, E. (2017). Adjunct faculty as key stakeholders in distance education. Journal of Faculty Development 31(2), 57-62.


Dr. Elizabeth Ritt (Professor, Nursing) was also recently elected to serve on the CCNE Board of Commissioners for a three year term that begins in January 2018.


Dr. Margaret Delaney (Assistant Professor) in collaboration with RN to BSN students, as part of the University's Teach-In on Race and Social Justice (March 5, 2018), will present presented "Social Determinants of Health" in an afternoon break-out session.

Staff

Adjunct Faculty

Scroll to the right to view more
Name Department Email
Sheila Campbell, Ph.D., RD Nutrition scampbell@ben.edu
Maureen Casten, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mcasten@ben.edu
Jan Dowell, M.S., M.H.S., R.D., C.S.S.D. Nutrition jdowell@ben.edu
Lynn Dugan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition ldugan@ben.edu
David Grotto, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition dgrotto@ben.edu
Michel Harris, M.S., R.D., L.D.N., C.D.E. Nutrition MHarris@ben.edu
Kelly Knopf, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition kknopf@ben.edu
Annie Murphy, MPH, RDN, LDN Nutrition amurphy@ben.edu
Teresa Pangan, Ph.D., R.D.N. Nutrition tpangan@ben.edu
Monica Pawasarat, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mpawasarat@ben.edu
Linda Roberts, MS, RD, LDN Nutrition lroberts@ben.edu
Laurie Schubert, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition lschubert@ben.edu
Jodie Shield, M.Ed., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jshield@ben.edu
Anna Shlachter, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition ashlachter@ben.edu
Traci Wessel, M.S., R.D., C.S.G., L.D.N. Nutrition twessel@ben.edu
College of Education and Health Services
Benedictine University

Richard Campbell, Ed.D.
Dean of the College of Education and Health Services

Erica George
Assistant to the Dean

Email: egeorge@ben.edu
Phone: (630) 829-6084

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -  4:30 p.m.

By Mail:
Benedictine University
5700 College Road
Kindlon Hall, Room 258
Lisle, IL 60532

Fax: (630) 829-6281