Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates →

Please click here for the latest information regarding Benedictine University's response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

Faculty

Faculty Highlights

Susan Cheng, Ph.D. (Associate Professor) presented at the American Public Health Association in November the following:

 

Mason T, Battle A, Campbell K, Jackson N, Blevins A, Woodson M, Rodgers C, Langer J, Ali R, Cheng S. Levels of Emotional Intelligence as a Contributing Factor to Substance Use Behaviors among College Athletes: A Quantitative Approach. American Public Health Association Annual Meeting. November 2019, Philadelphia, PA.

 

Mason T, Battle A, Campbell K, Ho L, Jackson N, Ali R, Langer J, Parise I, Cheng S. Follow-up Study: Quantitative Approach to the Effects of Emotional Intelligence, Persistence, and Graduation Rates on Substance Use Behaviors Among African American College Students. American Public Health Association Annual Meeting. November 2019, Philadelphia, PA.

 

Mason T, Campbell K, Battle A, Ho L, Woodson M, Langer J, Ali R, Cheng S. Follow-up Study: Quantitative Approach to Exploring the Social Determinants of Health on Racial Inequities in Preventative Health Care in Young African American Men Versus Young Caucasian Men at Universities in the Midwest. American Public Health Association Annual Meeting. November 2019, Philadelphia, PA.


Bonnie Beezhold, PhD, MHS, CHES (Associate Professor, Nutrition) recently published an article reporting on MSNW research project data:

"Vegans report less bothersome sexual symptoms in perimenopause and menopause."

Radnitz C, Beezhold B, McGrath RE, Todd LE. Intl Journal of Disease Reversal and Prevention. 2019 1(2), 25-34.


The COEHS Seventh Annual Faculty Research Symposium was held April 7, 2020 with the following faculty presentations:

Annmarie Chizewski, PhD (Assistant Professor - Sport and Exercise Science) "Fitness Fights Fires: Exploring the Relationship between Physical Fitness and Firefighter Ability"

Jennifer Makelarski, PhD, MPH (Assistant Professor - Public Health)  "Variation in the Effects of a Community Resource Referral Intervention on Self-Efficacy for Finding Health-Promoting Resources"

Gina Panozzo, DNP, MSN, RN-BC, CNE (Assistant Professor - Nursing)  "Therapeutic Relationships Among Nurses and Persons with Schizophrenia"

Poster presentations were:

Bonnie Beezhold, PhD, MHS, CHES (Assistant Professor - Nutrition)  "Relationship of Lifestyle Factors with Mental Health in College Students: A Cross-Sectional Study"

Annmarie Chizewski, PhD (Assistant Professor - Sport and Exercise Science) "Functional Fitness is an Effective Training Modality in Firefighters"

Max Ghaffari, PhD, RN, MT (Assistant Professor - Nursing)  "The Development of an Intelligent Leadership Model for Health Care Organizations: A Self-Assessment Approach"

Alan Gorr, PhD, MPH (Assistant Professor - Public Health)  "Forty Years of Health Professions Education: Prediction, Reality, Prospect"

Joan Libner, EdD, MSN, FRE, RN-BC, CNE (Professor - Nursing)  "Embracing, Advancing, and Reflecting upon the Benedictine Hallmarks in a University Department of Nursing and Health"

Janet LoVerde, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE (Assistant Professor - Nursing)  "Comparison of Lecture and Manipulative Teaching Methods on Learning and Application to Practice"

Staff

Adjunct Faculty

Scroll to the right to view more
Name Department Email
Patricia Brown, DNP, APRN, CCRN-K BSN Nursing and Health pbrown@ben.edu
Maureen Casten, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mcasten@ben.edu
Jan Dowell, M.S., M.H.S., R.D., C.S.S.D. Nutrition jdowell@ben.edu
Lynn Dugan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition ldugan@ben.edu
David Grotto, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition dgrotto@ben.edu
Sonja Harvey, DNP, RN BSN Nursing and Health sharvey@ben.edu
Annie Murphy, MPH, RDN, LDN Nutrition amurphy@ben.edu
Peggy Norton-Rosko, DNP, RN BSN Nursing and Health mnorton-rosko@ben.edu
Teresa Pangan, Ph.D., R.D.N. Nutrition tpangan@ben.edu
Monica Pawasarat, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mpawasarat@ben.edu
Yolanda Sankey-Walton, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC BSN Nursing and Health ysankey-walton@ben.edu
Laurie Schubert, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition lschubert@ben.edu
Jodie Shield, M.Ed., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jshield@ben.edu
College of Education and Health Services
Benedictine University

Christopher Duffrin, Ph.D.
Dean of the College of Education and Health Services

Erica George
Assistant to the Dean

Email: egeorge@ben.edu
Phone: (630) 829-6084

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -  4:30 p.m.

By Mail:
Benedictine University
5700 College Road
Kindlon Hall, Room 258
Lisle, IL 60532

Fax: (630) 829-6281