Faculty

Faculty Highlights

COEHS hosted its first Faculty Research Symposium on March 27. Dr. Sunil Chand chaired the panel and the following faculty presented:

  • Georgeen Polyak and Susan Cheng (MPH): Measuring legislative outcomes of public health advocacy
  • James Pelech (Education): An action research approach to examining the metacognition of middle school mathematics students
  • Margaret Carter Richey (Nursing): Registered nurses’ perceptions of health literacy and its effect on patient self-efficacy and patient healthcare decisions: implications for practice
  • Eileen Kolich: Mentorship as a means of mutual transformation: Personal development facilitation within the doctoral dissertation journey
  • Bonnie Beezhold (Nutrition): Does low intake of long-chain omega-3 fats in seafood adversely affect mood?

Dr. Sunil Chand has been appointed to the Board of The Conservation Foundation for a three year term. The Foundation is the premier non-profit in Illinois serving  conservation interests, especially land and water protection.  His appointment supports the University’s commitment to stewardship of the environment.


Dr. Eileen Kolich has co-authored a chapter in the text Research Paradigms for the 21st Century: Perspectives and Examples from Practice (Peter Lang Publishing, 2013) 


Stephanie Ellis and Alandra Weller-Clarke have received Innovation Grants for On-line /Hybrid Course Development for summer 2014.


Ovid Wong received an invitation to train about 50 new faculty  at Dalian Nationalities University (DNU) starting May 2014.


Jan Writer presented a workshop at the TASH National Conference on Severe Disabilities in Chicago, December 2013.


Dr. James Pelech's book review of Can Education Change Society? was published in "Teachers College Record."


Dr. Elizabeth Ritt published an article (2014, September) Essential Analytics in Nursing Education: Building Capacity to Improve Clinical PracticeJournal of Nursing Education and Practice. Sciedu Press Volume 4, No. 12, 9-16


Dr. Elizabeth Ritt presented Healthcare Analytics: Tools to Enhance Nursing Education and Clinical Decision-Making in Practice, presented at the 2014 Nurse Educator's Conference entitled, "Recharge your Focus on Education" sponsored by Centennial Health Education Center and the National Institute for Nursing Education and Scholarship, Breckenridge, CO.  Abstract published in the conference proceeding.


Staff

Adjunct Faculty

Scroll to the right to view more
Name Department Email
Traci Beierwaltes, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition tbeierwaltes@ben.edu
Lou Ann Chvatal, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition LChvatal@ben.edu
Jan Dowell, M.S., M.H.S., R.D., C.S.S.D. Nutrition jdowell@ben.edu
Lynn Dugan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition ldugan@ben.edu
Deepa Handu, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition dhandu@ben.edu
Michel Harris, M.S., R.D., L.D.N., C.D.E. Nutrition MHarris@ben.edu
Tom Jordan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition tjordan@ben.edu
Amie Luna, M.S. Nutrition aluna@ben.edu
Sarah McNicholas, M.S., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition smcnicholas@ben.edu
Paula Milas Sochacki, M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition pmilas@ben.edu
Nancy Moran, M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N., C.D.E. Nutrition nmoran@ben.edu
Mary Mullen, M.S., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition mmullen@ben.edu
Christine Palumbo, M.B.A., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition cpalumbo@ben.edu
Teresa Pangan, Ph.D., R.D. Nutrition tpangan@ben.edu
Monica Pawasarat, M.B.A., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition mpawasarat@ben.edu
Lindsay Sawyer, M.B.A., M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition lsawyer@ben.edu
Laurie Schubert, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition lschubert@ben.edu
Jodie Shield, M.Ed., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jshield@ben.edu
Mia Siomos, M.S., M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition msiomos@ben.edu
Jennifer Vimbor, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jvimbor@ben.edu
College of Education and Health Services
Benedictine University

Ethel C. Ragland, Ed.D., MN, RN
Dean of the College of Education and Health Services

Erica George
Assistant to the Dean

Email: egeorge@ben.edu
Phone: (630) 829-6084

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -  4:30 p.m.

By Mail:
Benedictine University
5700 College Road
Kindlon Hall, Room 258
Lisle, IL 60532

Fax: (630) 829-6281