Faculty

Faculty Highlights

Susan Cheng, Ph.D. (Associate Professor, Public Health) will be presenting at the ASPHO conference this spring:

Cowell B, Cheng WS, Wang L, Rainusso N, Foster J. Definition of Risk Profile and Toxicities of High-Dose Methotrexate Use in Pediatric Osteosarcoma. American Society Pediatric Hematology Oncology, May 1-4, 2019, New Orleans, LA.

 

Seashore L, Cheng WS, Foster J. Treatment Outcomes in Children with Relapsed/Refractory Solid Tumors. American Society Pediatric Hematology Oncology, May 1-4, 2019, New Orleans, LA.

 

Bernhardt M, Mangum M, Cheng WS, Foster J. Management of High-Dose Methotrexate Infusions During an Intravenous Sodium Bicarbonate Shortage. American Society Pediatric Hematology Oncology, May 1-4, 2019, New Orleans, LA.


Susan Cheng, Ph.D. (Associate Professor) presented at the American Public Health Association in November the following:

 

Mason T, Battle A, Campbell K, Jackson N, Blevins A, Woodson M, Rodgers C, Langer J, Ali R, Cheng S. Levels of Emotional Intelligence as a Contributing Factor to Substance Use Behaviors among College Athletes: A Quantitative Approach. American Public Health Association Annual Meeting. November 2019, Philadelphia, PA.

 

Mason T, Battle A, Campbell K, Ho L, Jackson N, Ali R, Langer J, Parise I, Cheng S. Follow-up Study: Quantitative Approach to the Effects of Emotional Intelligence, Persistence, and Graduation Rates on Substance Use Behaviors Among African American College Students. American Public Health Association Annual Meeting. November 2019, Philadelphia, PA.

 

Mason T, Campbell K, Battle A, Ho L, Woodson M, Langer J, Ali R, Cheng S. Follow-up Study: Quantitative Approach to Exploring the Social Determinants of Health on Racial Inequities in Preventative Health Care in Young African American Men Versus Young Caucasian Men at Universities in the Midwest. American Public Health Association Annual Meeting. November 2019, Philadelphia, PA.


Bonnie Beezhold, PhD, MHS, CHES (Associate Professor, Nutrition) recently published an article reporting on MSNW research project data:

"Vegans report less bothersome sexual symptoms in perimenopause and menopause."

Radnitz C, Beezhold B, McGrath RE, Todd LE. Intl Journal of Disease Reversal and Prevention. 2019 1(2), 25-34.


The COEHS Sixth Annual Faculty Research Forum was held March 26, 2019 with the following faculty presenting:

James Pelech, Ed.D. (Professor - Education) "Student Views on the Effects of Technology on Their Learning and Self-Efficacy or How We Got Our Cage Rattled"

Paula Sochacki, Ed.D., MPH, RDN, LDN (Assistant Professor - Nutrition)  "The Secret Recipe: To Leadership and Career Pathway Success in Dietetics"

Lindsey Ho, DrPH, MPH (Assistant Professor - Public Health)  "A Quantitative Approach to Characterizing the Joint Socio-demographic, Built Environment and Health Status of Communities"

Masoud (Max) Ghaffari, PhD, RN, MT (Assistant Professor - Nursing)  "Comparison of Three Instructional Methods for Teaching Pathophysiology"

Marshall J. Milbrath, PhD Candiddate, M. Ed. (Assistant Professor - Exercise Sports Studies)  "Examining Coach Decision-Making"


Dr. Margaret Delaney (Assistant Professor, Nursing) and Dr. Margaret Kipta (Assistant Professor, Nursing) presented "Cultural Competency in Health Care" at an afternoon break-out session at the University's Teach-In on Social Justice (March 4, 2019).


Drs. Deb Jezuit (Assistant Professor, Nursing) and Gina Panozzo (Assistant Professor, Nursing), Alison Ridge (Associate Professor Nursing) and Elizabeth Ritt (Professor, Nursing) presented a poster, "Graduate Nursing Students' Perspectives of Faculty Caring in Online Education" at the Springfield Memorial Medical Center 25th Annual Nursing Research Conference in March 2019.

Staff

Adjunct Faculty

Scroll to the right to view more
Name Department Email
Patricia Brown, DNP, APRN, CCRN-K BSN Nursing and Health pbrown@ben.edu
Maureen Casten, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mcasten@ben.edu
Jan Dowell, M.S., M.H.S., R.D., C.S.S.D. Nutrition jdowell@ben.edu
Lynn Dugan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition ldugan@ben.edu
David Grotto, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition dgrotto@ben.edu
Sonja Harvey, DNP, RN BSN Nursing and Health sharvey@ben.edu
Annie Murphy, MPH, RDN, LDN Nutrition amurphy@ben.edu
Peggy Norton-Rosko, DNP, RN BSN Nursing and Health mnorton-rosko@ben.edu
Teresa Pangan, Ph.D., R.D.N. Nutrition tpangan@ben.edu
Monica Pawasarat, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mpawasarat@ben.edu
Yolanda Sankey-Walton, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC BSN Nursing and Health ysankey-walton@ben.edu
Laurie Schubert, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition lschubert@ben.edu
Jodie Shield, M.Ed., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jshield@ben.edu
College of Education and Health Services
Benedictine University

Christopher Duffrin, Ph.D.
Dean of the College of Education and Health Services

Erica George
Assistant to the Dean

Email: egeorge@ben.edu
Phone: (630) 829-6084

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -  4:30 p.m.

By Mail:
Benedictine University
5700 College Road
Kindlon Hall, Room 258
Lisle, IL 60532

Fax: (630) 829-6281