Seminars & Workshops

D2L OPEN OFFICE HOURS AND WORKSHOPS:

(Contact Jennie Kamieniecki jkamieniecki@ben.edu for workshop registration)

Please click on this link for a list of upcoming D2L Training Workshops



CTLE FACULTY COMMUNITY LUNCHES: 

(Contact Dr. Cheryl Heinz cheinz@ben.edu for additional information)

  • September 21, 2015
  • October 12, 2015
  • November 18, 2015
  • December 7, 2015
  • January 14, 2016
  • February 19, 2016
  • March 11, 2016
  • April 28, 2016

FACULTY COLLOQUIUM SERIES PRESENTATIONS

(Contact Dr. Sandra Chmelir schmelir.ben.edu for additional information)

  • September 18, 2015
  • October 16, 2015
  • November 6, 2015
  • January 22, 2016
  • February 19, 2016
  • March 11, 2016
  • April 22, 2016

WRITING ACROSS THE CURRICULUM SEMINARS: 

(Contact Dr. Jean-Marie Kauth jkauth@ben.edu for additional information)

  • September 22, 2015
  • October 20, 2015
  • November 17, 2015
  • December 8, 2015
  • February 5, 2016
  • March 4, 2016
  • April 29, 2016

BENEDICTINE FACULTY FORUM: 

(Contact Dr. Christine Fletcher cfletcher@ben.edu, Dr. Kelly Kandra kkandra@ben.edu, or Dr. Ovid Wong owong@ben.edu for additional information)

  • October 6, 2015
  • November 3, 2015
  • December 1, 2015
  • January 19, 2016
  • February 2, 2016
  • March 1, 2016
  • April 5, 2016
  • May 3, 2016


Previous Workshops and Seminars

What the Best College Teachers Do: A series of open faculty workshops on best teaching practices beginning with a discussion of Ken Bain's award-winning book. Bain is the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence at New York University. The workshops will be held on Friday, March 20, 2009, Friday, April 3, 2009 and Tuesday, April 21, 2009. Contact the CTLE office assistant, Jennie Kamieniecki at jkamieniecki@ben.edu for further information and to register for the workshops.

Teaching the Generation 1.5 Student: This series of two hands-on faculty luncheon workshops led by ESL Specialist Dr. Sandra Kies of the Benedictine University Department of Languages and Literature will assist faculty members in adapting classroom activities and class assignments to meet the special needs of bilingual students who have grown up in a home in which a language other than English is spoken. The workshops are scheduled for Tuesday, March 24, 2009 and Tuesday, March 31, 2009 from 12:20 to 1:20pm. Contact the CTLE office assistant, Jennie Kamieniecki at jkamieniecki@ben.edu for further information and to register for the workshops.

  • Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

    BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

  • Cheryl Heinz, Ph.D., Director
    Phone: (630) 829-6581
    Fax: (630) 960-1126

  • Jennie Kamieniecki, Office Assistant
    E-mail: jkamieniecki@ben.edu
    Phone:  (630) 829-6278
    Fax:      (630) 960-1126

  • 5700 College Road Lisle IL, 60532
    8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m