Benedictine University Honors Committee announces recipients of Academic Awards

Benedictine University Honors Committee announces recipients of Academic Awards
May 27, 2008

Phil Brozynski, Media Relations Manager
(630) 829-6094

Amina Tahira Waheed, the daughter of Mohammed and Rafath Waheed of Lisle, has been named the recipient of the Procopian Award, the highest honor that Benedictine University can bestow upon a graduating senior. The Procopian Award is given for consistently outstanding curricular and extracurricular activities while at Benedictine University. The award signifies that scholarship (a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average) and service are exemplified by the student. The selection is made by the University Honors Committee from a pool nominated by faculty. Waheed received her award and addressed the graduates during Benedictine University’s 115th Commencement Convocation on Sunday, May 18 at the Village of Lisle-Benedictine University Sports Complex multi-purpose stadium. The Honors Committee also named the recipients of the Awards in Academic Honors, which are conferred upon students who have distinguished themselves by positive achievement in their field of study. These students have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better and have either completed research of consequence or have been published in their field. The 2008 recipients of the Awards in Academic Honors include: Anne Elisabeth Perkins, the daughter of Lawrence and Ruth Perkins of Alpena, Mich., the College of Business; and Bradley Thomas Callard, the son of Thomas and Katherine Callard of Rolling Meadows, the College of Education and Health Services. Also, Kristyn Danielle Bales, the daughter of Donald and Diane Bales of Downers Grove, and Debra Ann Witczak, the daughter of Michael and Gerry Witczak of Darien, the College of Science; and Gail Catherine Bush, the daughter of Paul and Susan Bush of Elmhurst, the College of Liberal Arts. Kiera O’Brien Vizza, daughter of Vincent Vizza and Patricia O’Brien of Evergreen Park, was named the recipient of the Thomas J. Dyba Leadership Award, which is awarded to a student for outstanding ability to initiate and organize worthwhile activities, to encourage and direct the cooperative efforts of others, and to command respect as a campus leader. This award also requires a minimum 3.5 grade point average. Ericka Estelle Sanders, the daughter of Tom and Delores Sanders of Chicago, was named the recipient of the Service Award, which is awarded for outstanding service to the University in general and to fellow students in particular. Leia Marie Roeges of Oak Park was named the recipient of the Community Service Award, which is awarded for outstanding service in religious, educational, social or political activities.


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has branch campuses in Springfield, Illinois, and Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls nearly 10,000 students in 56 undergraduate and 19 graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the sixth consecutive year in 2016. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org). For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, admissions@ben.edu or visit ben.edu.