Exclusive club: Eagles picked to win NAC men's golf title

Exclusive club: Eagles picked to win NAC men's golf title
August 29, 2008

Dave Beyer, Sports Information Director
(630) 829-6143

The Benedictine University men's golf team has been tabbed to win the Northern Athletics Conference (NAC) men's golf championship, according to the preseason coaches' poll. The Eagles are coached by Frank Janczak, in his third year at the Benedictine helm. Four different teams received first place votes, including Benedictine which received two and 68 poll points. Benedictine took second in last year's championship. MSOE was picked second in the poll, receiving two first place votes and 64 points. The Raiders won last year's championship by nine strokes. Aurora University received three first place votes and had 63 poll points for third. Edgewood College, who won the 2006 NAC title, was selected fourth. Edgewood received the remaining two first place votes and has 58 poll points. Marian University, Wisconsin Lutheran College and Concordia University Wisconsin were selected fifth, sixth and seventh. Lakeland College and Rockford College filled out the last two spots in the poll. 2008 NAC Men's Golf Preseason Coaches' Poll 1. Benedictine University (2), 68 2. MSOE (2), 64 3. Aurora University (3), 63 4. Edgewood College (2), 58 5. Marian University, 48 6. Wisconsin Lutheran College, 39 7. Concordia University Wisconsin, 30 8. Lakeland College, 24 9. Rockford College, 11 (first place votes in parentheses)


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has branch campuses in Springfield, Illinois, and Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls nearly 10,000 students in 56 undergraduate and 19 graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the sixth consecutive year in 2016. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org). For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, admissions@ben.edu or visit ben.edu.