Forty-five Benedictine graduate business students inducted into honorary society

Forty-five Benedictine graduate business students inducted into honorary society
July 2, 2008

Phil Brozynski, Media Relations Manager
(630) 829-6094

Forty-five students who completed a graduate business program at Benedictine University and 11 faculty members were inducted into the University's chapter of Sigma Beta Delta on June 8. Sigma Beta Delta is a national honor society in business, management and administration. Students must achieve a cumulative grade point average in the top 20 percent of their graduating class to be eligible for membership. Benedictine University became the 200th chapter of Sigma Beta Delta on April 11, 2003. The following students who earned either a Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.), Master of Science in Management and Organizational Behavior (M.S.M.O.B.) or Master of Public Health (M.P.H.) were inducted into Sigma Beta Delta: Nicole A. Allen (Bellwood), M.B.A.; Parneet Arora (India), M.B.A.; Matthew J. Bara (Naperville), M.B.A.; John P. Bem (Plainfield), M.B.A.; Patrick Alan Brown (Reading, Pa.), M.B.A.; Christopher Cali (Naperville), M.S.M.O.B.; Delayne Patrice Carson (Chicago), M.S.M.O.B.; Carol Ann Coleman (Springfield, Ill.), M.S.M..O.B.; and Patricia Conde (Willowbrook), M.B.A. Christine M. Ekis (Sugar Grove), M.B.A.; Patricia R. Garey (Hannibal, Mo.), M.O.B.; Seth Im Gilpin (Langley, Va.), M.B.A.; Jeanette Hellene Goza (Springfield, Ill.), M.O.B.; Robert John Grenke (Aurora), M.B.A.; Amy Patrice Hartnett (Naperville). M.B.A.; George F. Houston (Springfield), M.O.B.; and Gary Randall Humphrey (Dallas, Texas), M.B.A. Patricia Ann Irwin (New Berlin), M.O.B.; Timothy Edward Janis (Winfield), M.B.A.; David L. Johnsen (Bolingbrook), M.B.A.; Janice M. Kalet (Westmont), M.O.B.; Steven Michael Keck (Sammamish, Wa.), M.B.A.; Paul Kerley (Chicago), M.O.B.; Steven C. Kline (Decatur), M.O.B.; and Dean Andrew Lambert (Norwalk, Iowa), M.B.A. Timothy S. Manning (Lombard), M.B.A.; Melissa Mayo (Waunakee, Wis.), M.O.B.; Thomas D. Meehan IV (Jacksonville), M.B.A.; Deborah Ann Miller (Oswego), M.P.H.; Cassandra S. Moss (Sherman), M.O.B.; Kenneth Michael Moss (Lisle), M.B.A.; Ruta Palaitis (Chicago) M.B.A.; and Bryan M. Pearce (West Chicago), M.B.A. Elaine M. Petersen (Oak Brook) M.B.A.; Alan H. Pinter (Springfield), M.O.B.; Lynn M. Puhr (Hoffman Estates), M.O.B.; Adell J. Sauper (Naperville), M.B.A.; Haoran Shi (China), M.B.A. China; Brian Edward Smith (Naperville), M.B.A.; Thomas A. Smith (Naperville), M.B.A.; and Amanda Healani Starr (Springfield), M.O.B. George W. Stonesifer (Lisle), M.O.B.; Jason Peter Verbeeck (Bartlett), M.B.A.; Rita M. Young (Bellwood), M.B.A.; and Arturas Zilys (Lemont), M.B.A. The following faculty were also inducted into Sigma Beta Delta: Philip Terry Anderson, M.O.B.; John Charles Draut, M.B.A.; Theodore Joseph Hogan, Ph.D., M.P.H.; Chester Legenza, M.B.A.; Amy J. Miller; Peter Papantos, M.B.A.; Georgeen O. Polyak, Ph.D., M.P.H.; Ronald G. Revers, Ph.D., M.B.A.; Theresa M. Sak, Ph.D; Steven M. Seweryn, M.P.H.; and James C. Zoda, Ph.D., M.B.A.


Benedictine University is an independent Roman Catholic institution located in Lisle, Illinois just 25 miles west of Chicago. Founded in 1887, Benedictine provides 56 undergraduate majors, 16 graduate and four doctorate programs. The Chronicle of Higher Education recently ranked Benedictine University as the seventh fastest-growing campus among private nonprofit master’s universities, and Forbes magazine named Benedictine among the top 20 percent of America’s colleges for 2011. Benedictine University’s Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) program is listed by Crain’s Chicago Business as the fourth largest in the Chicago area in 2011.