"What happens next?" explores post-election America

"What happens next?" explores post-election America
October 27, 2008

Phil Brozynski, Media Relations Manager
(630) 829-6094

Voters will decide the future of the country in less than two weeks. But what will that future look like? A distinguished panel of faculty from Benedictine University led by former Illinois Attorney General Jim Ryan will try to provide some answers from 6:30-8:00 p.m. on Monday, November 10 in Birck Hall Room 112 as they explore, “What Happens Next?” Joining Ryan on the panel will be Joel Ostrow, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Political Science at Benedictine and a internationally-renowned expert on the former Soviet Union; Roger Rose, Ph.D., an expert on campaigns and elections, the presidency and foreign policy; and James Zoda, Ph.D., assistant professor of Economics at Benedictine. The symposium is sponsored by the Center for Civic Leadership and Public Service at Benedictine University. Founded by Ryan, the Center seeks to shape a new generation of public leaders and responsible citizens by encouraging high school and college students to participate in civic engagement activities that highlight the importance of civic competence and public leadership. The symposium is free and open to the public. Please R.S.V.P. by visiting the Center for Civic Leadership and Public Service online at www.ben.edu/ccl.


Benedictine University is an independent Roman Catholic institution located in Lisle, Illinois just 25 miles west of Chicago. Founded in 1887, Benedictine provides 56 undergraduate majors, 16 graduate and four doctorate programs. The Chronicle of Higher Education recently ranked Benedictine University as the seventh fastest-growing campus among private nonprofit master’s universities, and Forbes magazine named Benedictine among the top 20 percent of America’s colleges for 2011. Benedictine University’s Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) program is listed by Crain’s Chicago Business as the fourth largest in the Chicago area in 2011.