Scholars, Wingspread Fellows among students recognized by Benedictine

Scholars, Wingspread Fellows among students recognized by Benedictine
May 12, 2009

Phil Brozynski, Media Relations Manager
(630) 829-6094

Eleven students will graduate on May 17, 2009 with the designation as Benedictine University Scholars, the school announced recently. The Scholars Program at Benedictine is an intensive course of study designed to help a select number of gifted students develop their skills as leaders and thinkers. The program has four main components: coursework, community service, foreign language and research. Students must also maintain a 3.2 GPA. The 11 students graduating as Benedictine University Scholars are: Valarie Bell (Downers Grove), Janet Bilder (Palos Heights), Katelyn Decker (Aurora), Michael Doerrler (Hoffman Estates), Pooja Karia (Naperville), Ambareen Khan (Woodridge), Gabriela Lobato (Chicago), Bhavna Patel (Hanover Park), Kristen Root (Bartlett), Rosa Sanchez (Plainfield) and Katherine Thomas (Romeoville). Twenty-nine Benedictine students were selected to “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.” Students are selected on the basis of scholarship, participation and leadership in academic and extracurricular activities, citizenship, service to the school and promise of future usefulness. The students selected to “Who’s Who” are: Christine Ahn (Hinsdale), Jessica Armour (Tinley Park), Valarie Bell (Downers Grove), Janet Bilder (Palos Heights), Hillary Bridges (Woodridge), Yi-Ting Chen (Taipei, Taiwan), Brenda Cichon (Dwight), Katelyn Decker (Aurora), Michael Doerrler (Hoffman Estates) and Jennifer Erickson (Lockport). Also, Sadaf Fatani (Villa Park), Andreas Gloor (Sugar Grove), Franco Jacobson (Naperville), Maria Jauch (Palatine), Rafia Khader (Bolingbrook), Ambareen Khan (Woodridge), Andrej Kiricov (Hickory Hills), Nida Malik (Carol Stream), Nicolas Meyer (Bolingbrook), Hannah Miller (Joliet), Bhavna Patel Hanover Park) and Paul Ross (Plainfield). Also named to “Who’s Who” are: Adriana Salatova (Darien), Sara Sanchez (Woodstock), Danielle Swanson (Carol Stream), Milda Talladen (Aurora), Kimberly Taylor (Chicago), Katherine Thomas (Romeoville) and Scott Toth (Plainfield). Twelve students participated in the Wingspread Fellows Program, which offers students who are superior in intellectual, creative or leadership ability an opportunity to diversify and enrich their educational experiences through attendance at professional conference held at “Wingspread,” the Racine, Wis. estate designed by Frank Lloyd Wright for Herbert F. Johnson Jr., the third-generation leader of the Johnson Wax Company. Students are nominated by Benedictine faculty to become Wingspread Fellows. A prospective Fellow must be a full-time student who has junior or senior standing and a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Fellows must apply for each conference they wish to attend. Only a few students are chosen to attend a conference since accommodations are limited. The 12 Wingspread Fellows are: Earl Gerald Carlos (Ewa Beach, Hawaii), Jennifer Erickson (Lockport), Melissa Feinberg (Wood Dale), Elizabeth George (Yorkville), Brittany Hoornaert (Mokena), Andre M. Molina (Naperville), Nicholas Mostardo (Bartlett), Adnan Mujagic (Naperville), Nicolette Marie Pollack (Batavia), Celia Helene Porod (Berwyn), Mohammed Ahmed Syed (Plainfield) and Giulia Visconti (Glendale Heights).


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has branch campuses in Springfield, Illinois, and Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls nearly 10,000 students in 56 undergraduate and 19 graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the sixth consecutive year in 2016. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org). For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, admissions@ben.edu or visit ben.edu.