Twenty-two students inducted into national honor society in nursing

Twenty-two students inducted into national honor society in nursing
October 23, 2009

Marcus Pass
(630) 829-6094

Twenty-two Benedictine University students were recently inducted into the Lambda Upsilon-at-large Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society in Nursing. The mission of Sigma Theta Tau is to support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide, and create a global community of nurses who lead in using knowledge, scholarship, service and learning to improve the health of the world’s people. Membership is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, and to nurse leaders exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing. The new members of the Lamdba Upsilon chapter are: Rebecca Lynn Cazzato, Bloomingdale; Kimberly Charo, Hillside; Patricia Cruz, Naperville; Mariola Dilauro, Oak Park; Kimberly Hertzmann, Crest Hill; Joy Holtz, Lisle; Rosemary Kalchbrenner, Lemont; Lynne Madonna Kolasny, Wheaton; Jessica Lee, Forest Park; Princess Lomax, Chicago; and Tebe Ogba, Hillside. Also, Brandi Nicole Mounts, Brookfield; Marilyn Ortiz, Hanover Park; Donna Tracey Perchatsch, Naperville; Kimberley Riley, Chicago; Jo Anne Marie Robertson, Norridge; Shania Saleem, Stone Park; Cynthia Renee Shaird-Watson,Westchester; Victoria Marie Shink, Yorkville; Julisa Lai On Tsang, Chicago; Joanne Marie Turner, Aurora; and Mary Valadka, Elmwood. Also inducted were James D. Witt, M.B.A., FACHE, R.N.; and Margaret Cross of the Nursing Education Department at Edward Hospital.


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has branch campuses in Springfield, Illinois, and Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls nearly 10,000 students in 56 undergraduate and 19 graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the sixth consecutive year in 2016. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org). For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, admissions@ben.edu or visit ben.edu.