Honors committee, academic programs honor brightest students at Benedictine

June 19, 2017

Lisle, Illinois ~ Benedictine University's best and brightest graduates were recently honored for their outstanding academic achievements at the Interfaith Baccalaureate Convocation at the Rice Center.

Hannah Wangler, the daughter of Thomas and Vicky Wangler of Bolingbrook who earned a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Mathematics and graduated with a 3.939 GPA (on a 4-point scale), was named the recipient of the Procopian Award, the highest honor that Benedictine University can bestow upon a graduating senior.

The Procopian Award is given for consistently outstanding curricular and extracurricular activities while at Benedictine. The award signifies that scholarship (a minimum 3.500 cumulative GPA) and service are exemplified by the student. The selection is made by the University Honors Committee from a pool nominated by faculty.

The Honors Committee also named the recipients of the Awards in Academic Honors, which are conferred upon students who have distinguished themselves by positive achievement in their field of study. These students have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.500 or better and have either completed research of consequence or have been published in their field.

The 2017 recipients of the Awards in Academic Honors include: Daniel L. Goodwin College of Business – Jade Beadle, daughter of Laurence and Cheryl Beadle of Lemont; College of Education and Health Services – Kelsey Bartlow, daughter of Julia Leischner of Jacksonville; College of Liberal Arts – Cheryl Boyle of Elmhurst; and College of Science – Tanushree Nair, daughter of Seema Nair and Surresh Thuppally of Clarendon Hills.

Samantha Triani, daughter of Anthony and Kimberly Triani of Romeoville, was named the recipient of the Thomas J. Dyba Leadership Award, which is awarded to a student for outstanding ability to initiate and organize worthwhile activities, to encourage and direct the cooperative efforts of others, and to command respect as a campus leader.

This award also requires a minimum 3.500 GPA.

Veronica Adamiak-Duncan, daughter of Kevin and Barbara Duncan of Joliet, was named the recipient of the Benedictine Service Award, which is awarded for outstanding service to the University in general and to fellow students in particular; and Mayela Varela, daughter of Ana Varela of Cicero, was named the recipient of the Community Service Award, which is awarded for outstanding service in religious, educational, social or political activities.

Aimee Ford of Aurora was named the recipient of the Bishop Daniel Kucera, O.S.B., Award, which recognizes non-traditional students who have an exemplary academic record as well as a record of contributions to the University community.

Brandon Nguyen, son of Britney Nguyen of Oswego, was named the recipient of the Student Laureate Award by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois; and Mina Yar, daughter of Hossein Yar of Lisle, was named the recipient of the Flo Grebner Instructional Assistant/Tutor Recognition Award.

The Scholars Program is a four-year course of study designed to enable a select number of gifted undergraduate students to develop their skills as leaders and thinkers. The program focuses on academics,leadershipand service.Students must maintain 3.200 GPA throughout their four years at Benedictine.

Graduates of the Scholars Program are: Michael Blaszczyk (Naperville), Jeanette Corso (Lisle), Ladan Haery (Naperville), Rushad Marfatia (Naperville), Farheen Moinuddin (Lisle), Tanushree Nair (Clarendon Hills), Rena Renallo (Hampshire), Ryan Sample (Manteno), Joel Sandoval (Oswego), Morgan Schumacher (Elk Grove Village), Harsh Sharma (Naperville), Hafsa Sirajuddin (Westmont) and Victoria Wojciechowski (Willowbrook).

Benedictine University's various academic programs also recognize graduating seniors for their outstanding achievements. Individual program award winners included:

John Mickus Award in Biology – Anna Scheidel (Westmont) and M. Sami Tashwali (Darien).
Donald B. Taylor Leadership Award in Biology – Cecilia Do (Aurora).
Outstanding Senior in Adult Programs – Kayla Rae Standford (Hoffman Estates).
Outstanding Senior in Accounting – Jade Beadle (Lemont).
Outstanding Senior in Business Analytics – Greta Ciuksyte (Naperville).
Outstanding Senior in Business and Economics – Kassandra Johnson (Tinley Park).
Outstanding Senior in Finance – Jacob Loar (Plainfield).
Outstanding Senior in Humsan Resource Management – David Sapyta (Lombard).
Outstanding Senior in Management and Organizational Behavior – Samantha Triani (Romeoville).
Outstanding Senior in Marketing – Kristine Kryca (Algonquin) and Tabitha Pinchot (Glen Ellyn).
American Chemical Society Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award – Jonathan Mason (Newark).
Communication Arts Overall Excellence Award – Marlo Louden (Warrenville).
Multimedia Excellence Award – Kaitlynn Wolfgram (Lisle).
Print Media Excellence Award – Marissa Perez (Warrenville).
Research Excellence Award – Molly Morley (Anaheim Hills, Calif.).
Electronic Media Excellence Award – Molly Morley (Anaheim Hills, Calif.).
Outstanding Senior in Criminal Justice – Alexis Weidley (Fremont, Calif.).
Overall Excellence Award in Studio Arts – Varda Ahmed (Hanover Park).
Margarete Roth Award for Outstanding Senior in International Business – Allison Korn (Crystal Lake).
Outstanding Senior Nutritionist Award – Natalie Tatiana Arturo (Naperville).
Clinical Nutrition Award – Kristin Bulat (Naperville).
Community Nutrition Service Award – Janet Beltran (Addison).
Nutrition Research Award – Kelsey Bartlow (Jacksonville).
Nutrition Systems Management Award – Jacalyn Edwards (Arlington Heights).
Nutrition Education Award – Emily Burns (Orland Park).
Senior Nutrition Recognition Award – Hayley Bingen (Glen Ellyn), Elizabeth Mancuso (Schaumburg), Nicole Michehl (Grayslake) and Justyna Walkosz (Burbank).
Joel Setzen Award for Outstanding Graduating Senior in Political Science – Patrick Courteau (Hugo, Minn.), who has been accepted into the University of Wisconsin Law School.
Model Illinois Government Leadership Award – Karina Magana (Cicero) and Kellen McCullum (Joliet).
Mock Trial Award – Paulina Piasecki (Lake Villa).
Model UN Award – Quentin Florido (Chicago), Karina Magana (Cicero) and Kellen McCullum (Joliet).
Outstanding Senior in Sociology – Samantha Rothmund (Naperville).
Writing and Publishing Excellence Award – Victoria Wojciechowki (Willowbrook).


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has a branch campus in Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls more than 5,000 students in undergraduate and graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the eighth consecutive year in 2018. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org). For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, admissions@ben.edu or visit ben.edu.

Marketing and Communications

Gary Kohn
Assoc. Vice President of Marketing and Communications
(630) 829-6095