Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates →

Please click here for the latest information regarding Benedictine University's response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

Interfaith Cooperation Committee

The Interfaith Cooperation Committee (ICC) was established in Fall 2014. This advisory committee was created following a key recommendation of the Campus Interfaith Climate Survey sponsored by the Interfaith Youth Core (IFYC).

Chaired by Rita George Tvrtkovic, Associate Professor of Theology, the committee includes faculty and staff from a wide range of religions on campus, including a Sikh, Hindu, Muslim, Jew, Atheist/Humanist, and Christians of several different denominations. The committee meets on an ad hoc basis to help the university better live out its Benedictine value of hospitality. Some projects we've worked on over the years include creating the Interfaith Prayer Room in Kindlon Hall, and reviving the Interfaith Hooding Ceremony (a tradition from the 1990s).

The ICC mission statement: "Benedictine University is rooted in its Catholic, Benedictine Heritage; celebrates all faiths; and is on a journey together. We live this tradition daily."

Rita George Tvrtkovich,  Associate Professor, Theology, Chair

Zubair Amir, Associate Professor, English Language and Literature

Peter Huff, Chief Mission Officer and Professor, Theology

Manmohan Kaur, Professor, Mathematics

Elizabeth Kubek, Professor, English Language and Literature

Carrie Ankeny, Director, Campus Ministry

Jayashree Sarathy, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Anne Marie Smith, Writing Learning Specialist

Monica Tischler, Professor, Biological Sciences