Faculty Highlights

Dr. James Pelech, Associate Professor, Teacher Education Preparation, received the Kevin Doyle Faculty Award for Leadership in Mission and Catholic Identity at the Benedictine Founders' Day Celebration March 4, 2016.

The COEHS Third Annual Faculty Research Forum was held March 29, 2016 with the following faculty presenting:

Elizabeth Bormann, MPH, CHES, Instructor, Public Health
"Food is Medicine Follow-Up Study: A Comparison by Neighborhood, Race, and Income." 

Margaret M Kipta, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, CRNA, Instructor, Nursing and Health, who was awarded her DNP from the University of Michigan, Flint in May 2016, presented "Implementation of an Educational Module to Improve Anesthesia Providers' Knowledge about Management of Cardiovascular Implantable Electronic Devices (CIEDs) During the Perioperative Care".

Karen Plawecki, PhD, RD, LDN, Assistant Professor, Nutrition
"Effects of theory-based nutrition intervention using learner-centered activities on bone health knowledge, intent, and influences of school-age children."

Antonina Lukenchuk, PhD, EdD,  MSEd , Adjunct Faculty, Higher Education
"Synergy of Research and Practice in Higher Education"

Alandra Devall, PhD , Professor, Education
"Students Create YouTube Videos as Assessment"

Public Health - BenU's MPH program was proud to present a dozen posters and oral presentations from students, alumni, and faculty at the 2015 APHA Annual Meeting. Here are some highlights of presentations, the BenU social event at The Gage, and the joint Illinois social event at the Chicago Cultural Center. The program now looks forward to growing more research and the opportunity to hopefully present at APHA 2016 in Denver, Colorado. Onwards and upwards!

Dr. Patricia Brown (Assistant Professor, Nursing and Health) presented Facilitating Family Partnerships at the 12th Annual Evidence Based Practice Conference on October 24, 2015 at Edward Hospital in Naperville.

Dr. Susan Hovey (Assistant Professor, Coordinator of Nursing Programs - Springfield) was awarded her PhD from Illinois State University Mennonite College of Nursing in May 2016.  Her doctoral research was The effect of first clinical assignments on pre-licensure nursing students' attitudes toward persons who are aged.

Dr. Joan Libner (Associate Professor and Department Chair, Nursing and Health) 

recent publication – Libner, J. (2016, April). Priorities for continuing education regarding regulation: Perceptions of RN-to-BSN students and state regulators. Journal of Nursing Regulation, 7(1), 53-58.

Dr. Margaret Richey (Associate Professor, Nursing and Health) has been selected by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) to serve as an on-site program evaluator. 

CCNE is the premier accrediting agency for baccalaureate and graduate nursing educational programs and nurse residency programs. Benedictine University's MSN and RN to BSN programs are accredited by CCNE.

Dr. Alison Ridge (Assistant Professor and M.S.N. Program Director) presented Demystifying Program Assessment: Creating a Sound Infrastructure at the Online Learning Consortium Conference on October 15, 2015 in Orlando, FL.

Dr. Elizabeth Ritt (Professor, Nursing and Health) 

recent publication - Ritt, E. and Taylor, N. (2016, September).  The identification of post-acute patients at risk for hospital readmission:  Clinical implications of the LACE index.  Clinical Nursing Studies, 4(3).  Retrieved from http://www.sciedu.ca/journal/index.php/cns/article/view/9394

Dr. Jezuit (Assistant Professor), Dr. Richey (Associate Professor), Dr. Ridge (Assistant Professor), Dr. Ritt (Professor), and Dr. Roper (Assistant Professor), all of the Department of Nursing and Health provided a poster presentation, Engaging students and faculty:  Enhanced integration of the Benedictine Hallmarks in an online graduate nursing program, at the 10th Annual Pedagogy Conference in Lisle in May 2016.


Adjunct Faculty

Scroll to the right to view more
Name Department Email
Traci Beierwaltes, M.S., R.D., C.S.G., L.D.N. Nutrition tbeierwaltes@ben.edu
Sheila Campbell, Ph.D., RD Nutrition scampbell@ben.edu
Maureen Casten Nutrition mcasten@ben.edu
Lou Ann Chvatal, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition LChvatal@ben.edu
Jan Dowell, M.S., M.H.S., R.D., C.S.S.D. Nutrition jdowell@ben.edu
Lynn Dugan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition ldugan@ben.edu
David Grotto Nutrition dgrotto@ben.edu
Deepa Handu, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition dhandu@ben.edu
Michel Harris, M.S., R.D., L.D.N., C.D.E. Nutrition MHarris@ben.edu
Christine Hartney, MS, RD, LDN, CNSC Nutrition chartney@ben.edu
Amy Kelly, MS, RD, LDN Nutrition akelly10@ben.edu
Kelly Knopf, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition kknopf@ben.edu
Amie Luna, M.S. Nutrition aluna@ben.edu
Sarah McNicholas Blackburn, M.S., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition smcnicholas@ben.edu
Annie Murphy, MPH, RDN, LDN Nutrition amurphy@ben.edu
Christine Palumbo, M.B.A., R.D., L.D.N., FAND Nutrition cpalumbo@ben.edu
Teresa Pangan, Ph.D., R.D.N. Nutrition tpangan@ben.edu
Monica Pawasarat, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition mpawasarat@ben.edu
Linda Roberts, MS, RD, LDN Nutrition lroberts@ben.edu
Laurie Schubert, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition lschubert@ben.edu
Jodie Shield, M.Ed., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jshield@ben.edu
Anna Shlachter, MS, RDN, LDN Nutrition ashlachter@ben.edu
Liset Vasquez, Ph.D., RD, LD, CHES Nutrition lvasquez@ben.edu
College of Education and Health Services
Benedictine University

Ethel C. Ragland, Ed.D., MN, RN
Dean of the College of Education and Health Services

Erica George
Assistant to the Dean

Email: egeorge@ben.edu
Phone: (630) 829-6084

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -  4:30 p.m.

By Mail:
Benedictine University
5700 College Road
Kindlon Hall, Room 258
Lisle, IL 60532

Fax: (630) 829-6281