Seminars & Workshops

D2L OPEN OFFICE HOURS AND WORKSHOPS:

(Contact Jennie Kamieniecki jkamieniecki@ben.edu for workshop registration)

Please click on this link for a list of upcoming D2L Training Workshops


CTLE FACULTY COMMUNITY LUNCHES: 

(Contact Dr. Cheryl Heinz cheinz@ben.edu for additional information)

  • September 19, 2016
  • October 10, 2016
  • November 16, 2016
  • December 5, 2016
  • January 18, 2017
  • February 22, 2017
  • March 10, 2017
  • April 27, 2017

FACULTY COLLOQUIUM SERIES PRESENTATIONS

(Contact Dr. Sandra Chmelir schmelir@ben.edu for additional information)

  • September 30, 2016
  • October 28, 2016
  • November 18, 2016
  • January 20, 2017
  • February 17, 2017
  • April 21, 2017

WRITING ACROSS THE CURRICULUM SEMINARS: 

(Contact Dr. Jean-Marie Kauth jkauth@ben.edu for additional information)

  • September 20, 2016
  • October 18, 2016
  • November 15, 2016
  • December 6, 2016
  • February 3, 2017
  • March 3, 2017
  • April 28, 2017

BENEDICTINE FACULTY FORUM: 

(Contact Dr. Christine Fletcher cfletcher@ben.edu, Dr. Elizabeth Ritt eritt@ben.edu, or Dr. Kari Stone kstone@ben.edu for additional information)

  • October 6, 2016
  • November 3, 2016
  • December 1, 2016
  • January 19, 2017
  • February 2, 2017
  • March 2, 2017
  • April 6, 2017
  • May 4, 2017


Previous Workshops and Seminars

What the Best College Teachers Do: A series of open faculty workshops on best teaching practices beginning with a discussion of Ken Bain's award-winning book. Bain is the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence at New York University. The workshops will be held on Friday, March 20, 2009, Friday, April 3, 2009 and Tuesday, April 21, 2009. Contact the CTLE office assistant, Jennie Kamieniecki at jkamieniecki@ben.edu for further information and to register for the workshops.

Teaching the Generation 1.5 Student: This series of two hands-on faculty luncheon workshops led by ESL Specialist Dr. Sandra Kies of the Benedictine University Department of Languages and Literature will assist faculty members in adapting classroom activities and class assignments to meet the special needs of bilingual students who have grown up in a home in which a language other than English is spoken. The workshops are scheduled for Tuesday, March 24, 2009 and Tuesday, March 31, 2009 from 12:20 to 1:20pm. Contact the CTLE office assistant, Jennie Kamieniecki at jkamieniecki@ben.edu for further information and to register for the workshops.