Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates →

Please click here for the latest information regarding Benedictine University's response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

Wetland

Resources for Educators and the Community

Please check back as we continue to build this resources page! If you have suggestions for resources you would like us to share with the community, please e-mail JuricaSuchyMuseum@ben.edu.

 

Museum Virtual Resources

Click on the links below to connect with the various new museum virtual resources:
-Museum podcast "Out of the Discovery Box" with new episodes monthly.
-Museum YouTube Channel with educational videos highlighting the museum collections.
 

See more details on our Visit the Museum page. 

 

 

Living with Wildlife in Urban Areas:

Willowbrook Wildlife Center: http://willowbrookwildlife.org/~willow34/coyotes-foxes/

Living with Wildlife in Illinois: http://web.extension.illinois.edu/wildlife/directory.cfm

Fact Sheets: http://wdfw.wa.gov/living/cougars.html

Wildlife Ecology & Fact Sheets: http://wildlifedamage.uwex.edu/

 

 


Citizen Science Projects


Project Budburst: http://budburst.org/

Project Squirrel: http://www.projectsquirrel.org/

Project FeederWatch: http://feederwatch.org/

Habitat Project: http://habitatproject.org/index.html

Xerces Society: http://www.xerces.org/citizen-science/

Illinois Odonate Survey: http://www.illinoisodes.org/

Illinois River Watch: https://illinoisriverwatch.org/

animaila project: http://animaliaproject.org/citizen-science/

FrogWatch USA: https://www.aza.org/frogwatch/

mPING: https://mping.nssl.noaa.gov/

 


Wildlife Webcams

Bird Watching HQ: https://birdwatchinghq.com/

Project FeederWatch Cams: https://www.allaboutbirds.org/cams/cornell-lab-feederwatch/

Illinois Peregrines, Field Museum: https://www.fieldmuseum.org/science/special-projects/illinois-peregrines/illinois-peregrines-webcams 

Audubon Bird Cams: https://www.audubon.org/birdcams

Yosemite Wildlife Cam: https://yosemite.org/webcams/yosemite-falls/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIhd-5hOGw6QIVEorICh06gw6oEAAYBCAAEgKn5PD_BwE

National Park Service - Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado Webcams:  https://www.nps.gov/romo/learn/photosmultimedia/webcams.htm

National Park Service - Katmai National Park and Preserve, Alaska Webcams: https://www.nps.gov/katm/learn/photosmultimedia/webcams.htm


Zoo Webcams

Indianapolis Zoo Cams: https://www.indianapoliszoo.com/webcams/

San Diego Zoo Cams: https://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/live-cams

Dublin Zoo Cams: https://www.dublinzoo.ie/animals/animal-webcams/

International Wolf Center Cams: https://wolf.org/wolf-cams2/

 


Sustainability and Environmental Stewardship

Sustainability at Benedictine: http://www.ben.edu/sustainability/

Conservation Foundation: https://www.theconservationfoundation.org/

Sustain DuPage: https://sustaindupage.com/

12 Ways to Live More Sustainably: https://www.biologicaldiversity.org/programs/population_and_sustainability/sustainability/live_more_sustainably.html 

Green Eco Tips: http://www.globalstewards.org/ecotips.htm

How to Make A Worm Compost Bin: https://naplescompost.com/how-to-make-your-own-worm-composting-bin/

Composting at Home: https://www.epa.gov/recycle/composting-home

Water Footprint Calculator: https://www.watercalculator.org/how-to-save-water/

Water Saving Tips: https://www.edenproject.com/learn/for-everyone/water-saving-tips

Organic Lawn Care: https://www.planetnatural.com/organic-lawn-care-101/going-organic/

Organic Lawns: https://www.thisoldhouse.com/lawns/21015220/tips-for-a-lush-organic-lawn

Native Landscaping: https://www.chicagobotanic.org/plantinfo/landscaping_native_plants

No-Mow Movement: https://www.ecowatch.com/lawns-environment-sustainable-landscaping-2052211381.html

Xeriscaping and Xerogardening: https://www.chicagobotanic.org/library/spotlight/xeriscaping

10 Home Items to Reuse Over and Over: https://www.onegreenplanet.org/lifestyle/home-items-you-can-reuse-over-and-over-again/

100 DIY Crafts to Repurpose and Reuse: https://www.diyncrafts.com/6081/repurpose/100-ways-repurpose-reuse-broken-household-items

Upcycling in the Garden: https://www.housebeautiful.com/uk/garden/a30387007/upcycling-ideas-garden/

17 Upcycled Garden Ideas: https://recyclenation.com/2015/05/17-upcycled-garden-ideas/

GreenPlanet4Kids Comics: https://greenplanet4kids.com/

Environmental Science: https://www.environmentalscience.org/sustainability

Home Water Conservation: https://www.myjobquote.co.uk/blog/home-water-conservation/

How to Save Water at Home: https://www.aquatell.ca/pages/how-to-save-water-at-home-for-adults-and-children

 


Ecoinclusion

Ecoinclusive: https://www.ecoinclusive.org/

iDigBio Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Reading List: https://www.idigbio.org/content/diversity-equity-and-inclusion-reading-list-special-emphasis-natural-sciences-and-natural

Finding Carl Cotton: https://www.fieldmuseum.org/blog/finding-carl-cotton#:~:text=Carl%20Cotton%20(1918%E2%80%931971),knew%20almost%20nothing%20about%20him.

George Washington Carver: https://www.history.com/topics/black-history/george-washington-carver

Harriet Tubman, an Unsung Naturalist: https://www.audubon.org/news/harriet-tubman-unsung-naturalist-used-owl-calls-signal-underground-railroad

5 Black Environmentals and Adventurers You Should Know: https://natureforall.global/blog/2018/2/27/5-african-american-environmentalists-and-adventurers-you-should-know-about-this-black-history-month

10 BIPOC Environmental Authors: https://www.wastefree.earth/post/10-bipoc-environmental-authors

Dr. Joe Lee: https://www.nps.gov/grsm/learn/news/park-superintendent-recognizes-first-african-american-naturalist.htm

Celebrating Black Environmentalists: https://sfenvironment.org/article/celebrating-black-environmentalists-during-black-history-month

10 Outdoor Books by BIPOC Writers to Expand Your Perspecive: https://www.fieldmag.com/articles/outdoors-books-and-poetry-by-bipoc-authors

Earth Matters - 7 Books by Women: https://nyacknewsandviews.com/2020/09/earth-matters-7-books-by-women-about-nature/

500 Women Scientists: https://500womenscientists.org/

10 Women in Science You Should Know: https://www.cnn.com/2020/01/27/world/women-in-science-you-should-know-scn/index.html

Women in Space: https://www.space.com/16143-women-space-firsts-gallery.html

BIPOC in the Great Outdoors: https://www.fieldmag.com/articles/black-indigenous-poc-outdoor-collectives-nonprofits-instagram

Whose Land: https://www.whose.land/en/

Breaking Down the Lack of Diversity in Outdoor Spaces: https://nationalhealthfoundation.org/breaking-down-lack-diversity-outdoor-spaces/

10 Black Scientists that Science Teachers Should Know: https://www.pbs.org/education/blog/ten-black-scientists-that-science-teachers-should-know-about-and-free-resources

Why is it Important to Amplify the Work of BIPOC Scientists: https://neuro.hms.harvard.edu/community-building/theme-j/why-it-important-amplify-work-bipoc-scientists-and-how-can-i-do-it

Making History: African American Pioneers of Science: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/science/article/black-inventors-and-pioneers-of-science

22 Multicultural Children's Books for Earth Day: https://coloursofus.com/multicultural-childrens-books-earth-day/

 


Specimen Databases

The Animal Database: https://www.wirefence.co.uk/animal-databases/

JSNM Specimen Database (hosted by Arctos): https://arctos.database.museum/home.cfm

Global Biodiversity Information Facility: https://www.gbif.org/

Natural History Museum (UK): https://www.nhm.ac.uk/our-science/data.html

Smithsonian NMNH Collections: https://collections.nmnh.si.edu/search/

American Museum of Natural History: https://www.amnh.org/research/paleontology/collections/database

Florida Museum Natural History Collections: https://www.floridamuseum.ufl.edu/collections/databases/

San Diego Natural History Collections: https://www.sdnhm.org/science/paleontology/resources/collection-database/

Berkeley Natural History Museums: https://bnhm.berkeley.edu/informatics/collection-databases/

vPlants Database (Chicago Region Virtual Herbarium): https://www.vplants.org/portal/index.php


Podcasts

JSNM Podcast "Out of the Discovery Box": https://anchor.fm/jsnm

Podcasts for Bird Watchers: https://www.birdwatchersdigest.com/bwdsite/podcasts.php

American Birding Podcast: https://www.aba.org/podcast/

Urban Wildlife Podcast: http://www.urbanwildlifecast.com/

The Casual Birder Podcast: https://casualbirderpod.libsyn.com/

Eyes On Conservation: http://wildlensinc.org/film-projects/eyes-on-conservation

Out and About - Kane County: https://anchor.fm/forest-preserve

 


Living With Wildlife

On Saturday, January 31, 2015 the Director/Curator of the Jurica-Suchy Nature Museum, Karly Tumminello, co-presented at the Wild Things conference with Susan Ask, Founder of animalia project, and Mike Redmer, a Senior Biologist of USFWS.

Their presentation, "Bears, Cougars, and Wolves, Oh My!... Adapting to Life with Large Carnivores in Chicago's Urban Wilderness" looked at the current trends in these three species returning to the Midwest region, where they were previously extirpated from during the 1800's. 

 Wild Things 2015

Key take-aways from this talk:

  1) Sightings of black bear, cougars and wolves will remain infrequent in the near future. Generally, young males may move through our region looking for suitable habitat and food resources (such as the white-tailed deer).

  2) The fact that these animals are looking for suitable habitat in our region speaks to the successes of collective and continued conservation efforts. Restoration projects have successfully increased biodiversity in many ways.

  3) These creatures generally avoid all contact with humans. However, there are measures we as humans need to take to ensure we do not inadvertently attract these animals. This includes things like securing trash cans, taking in bird feeders at night, and not leaving our pets outdoors unattended.

  4) It may be challenging to identify an animal, especially if seeing it for the first time. There are many key characteristics to look for which may help distinguish between similar species. If at a safe distance, you could try to get a photograph to submit to an expert for confirmation.
Report any unusual wildlife sightings here:  http://web.extension.illinois.edu/wildlife/sightings.cfm

 

If you have any questions or comments, or are interested in assisting in our on-going efforts to educate the public about large carnivores in the Chicago Wilderness region, please e-mail JuricaSuchyMuseum@ben.edu.

JuricaSuchyMuseum 1-28-2013 (406)
JSNM Worksheets

Mazes 

Honeybee

Frog

Hummingbird

Moth

Spider

Swallowtail

Woodlouse

 

Word Searches

Native Bees of Illinois

Moths of Illinois

Turtles of Illinois

Spiders of Illinois

Insects of Illinois

Trees of Illinois

 

Note: Museum worksheet packets are free and available by request. The worksheet packet does not included any of the worksheets listed above. There are 2 packets available and are designed for two age groups: Pre-K - 1st grade and 2nd - 5th grade. See details on our Visit the Museum page.


To suggest new virtual resources, or to request printable PDF versions of any JSNM worksheet, please email us at JuricaSuchyMuseum@ben.edu.

The Jurica-Suchy Nature Museum at Benedictine University is not affiliated with any of the above links or resources, and does not endorse or promote any information or sales of the associated materials. These resources are intended to assist educators and parents to connect children with environmental and natural interactions and educational experiences, as well as to promote life long learning in all ages. Parents and educators should screen any resources before sharing with their children. If you find any links are broken or any innappropiate material is found within any links (as links and content do change over time), please email us at JuricaSuchyMuseum@ben.edu so we can remedy the situation immediately. We are continuing to build out this page, so if you have suggestions, comments or ideas, please let us know! We hope you find that these resources help you further your understanding and appreciation of the world's natural and cultural diversity.  

Jurica-Suchy Nature Museum
BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY
Follow us on Facebook!

Jurica-Suchy Nature Museum Facebook
www.facebook.com/JSNMatBU
  Location
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
2nd Floor of Birck Hall