Five Benedictine University students inducted into history honor society

Five Benedictine University students inducted into history honor society
May 14, 2007

Phil Brozynski, Media Relations Manager
(630) 829-6094

Five students have recently been inducted into the Benedictine University chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the honorary society in history. Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. The Benedictine University chapter is Alpha Mu Mu. To qualify for membership, undergraduate students must complete at least 12 semester hours in history with a G.P.A. of at least 3.1, have an overall G.P.A. of 3.0 or better, and be in the top 35 percent of their class. Membership is not limited to history majors. The new members of Phi Alpha Theta are: Michael John Bartgen, the son of John and Mary Bartgen of Chicago and a 2003 graduate of (Burbank) St. Laurence H.S.; Huong Ly Luu, the daughter of Hong and Kimhien Luu of Glendale Heights and a 2005 graduate of the College of DuPage (C.O.D.); and Jeffrey Scott Ptacek, the son of Scott and Marylou Ptacek of River Grove and a 2002 graduate of (Franklin Park) East Leyden H.S. Also inducted were: Sharon (Krummenacher) Ramey of Carol Stream, a 2005 graduate of C.O.D.; and Martha Alejandra Rolon-Campise of Woodridge, a 2003 graduate of C.O.D. “These are five very bright students who take history seriously and are committed to making a positive change in our community and the wider community,” said Benedictine University Department of History chairman Vincent R. Gaddis, Ph.D.


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has branch campuses in Springfield, Illinois, and Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls nearly 10,000 students in 56 undergraduate and 19 graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the sixth consecutive year in 2016. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org). For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, admissions@ben.edu or visit ben.edu.