Benedictine University Honors Committee announces recipients of Academic Awards

Benedictine University Honors Committee announces recipients of Academic Awards
April 27, 2009

Phil Brozynski, Media Relations Manager
(630) 829-6094

Nicholas Carl Dobes, the son of Douglas and Susan Dobes of Lyons, has been named the recipient of the Procopian Award, the highest honor that Benedictine University can bestow upon a graduating senior. The Procopian Award is given for consistently outstanding curricular and extracurricular activities while at Benedictine University. The award signifies that scholarship (a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average) and service are exemplified by the student. The selection is made by the University Honors Committee from a pool nominated by faculty. Dobes will receive his award and address the graduates during Benedictine University’s 116th Commencement Convocation on Sunday, May 17 at the Village of Lisle-Benedictine University Sports Complex multi-purpose stadium. The Honors Committee also named the recipients of the Awards in Academic Honors, which are conferred upon students who have distinguished themselves by positive achievement in their field of study. These students have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better and have either completed research of consequence or have been published in their field. The 2009 recipients of the Awards in Academic Honors include: Rafia Amina Khader, the daughter of Syed and Asfia Khader of Bolingbrook, the College of Business; and Sandra Therese Carroll, the daughter of James and Valerie Carroll of Glen Ellyn, the College of Education and Health Services. Also, Hunan Ali Chaudhry, the son of Riaz and Iffat Chaudhry of Westmont, the College of Science; Nicholas Anthony Mostardo, the son of Mark and Nancy Mostardo of Bartlett, the College of Liberal Arts; and Lavoris Edwards of Country Club Hills, the Moser College of Adult and Professional Studies. Jennifer Amy Erickson, the daughter of Daniel and Colleen Erickson of Lockport, was named the recipient of the Thomas J. Dyba Leadership Award, which is awarded to a student for outstanding ability to initiate and organize worthwhile activities, to encourage and direct the cooperative efforts of others, and to command respect as a campus leader. This award also requires a minimum 3.5 grade point average. Sarah Randa Salim, the daughter of Mohammad and Fatima Salim of Bridgeview, was named the recipient of the Benedictine Service Award, which is awarded for outstanding service to the University in general and to fellow students in particular. Kelly Sierra, the daughter of Patrick and Janet Flaherty of Grosse Ile, Michigan, was named the recipient of the Community Service Award, which is awarded for outstanding service in religious, educational, social or political activities. Andreas L. Gloor of Sugar Grove was named the recipient of the Bishop Kucera Award, formerly called the Non-Traditional Student Award. This award recognizes non-traditional students who have an exemplary academic record as well as a record of contributions either on or off campus which distinguishes them from other non-traditional students.


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has branch campuses in Springfield, Illinois, and Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls nearly 10,000 students in 56 undergraduate and 19 graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the sixth consecutive year in 2016. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org). For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, admissions@ben.edu or visit ben.edu.