Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates →

Please click here for the latest information regarding Benedictine University's response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

New advisory group helps Benedictine shape vision of future

April 12, 2017

Lisle, Illinois ~ National CEOs, presidents and city leaders are among the committee members who volunteered for a new community advisory group to Benedictine University.

Convened in January, the President’s Planning Advisory Committee is comprised of respected and influential members of the communities Benedictine University serves. Committee members were chosen because of their expressed belief in Benedictine’s mission to provide a values-based education to the community, and their willingness to advocate for the University in support of implementing the BenU 2020 strategic plan.

“We are grateful to each member who has committed to serving on this committee to offer their unique professional insights toward making Benedictine University a top-choice institution for our diverse student population,” said Benedictine President Michael S. Brophy, Ph.D., M.F.A.

Committee members are:

Aimee J. Allbritton of Springfield, Ill.
Vice President, Organization Development and Chief Learning Officer, Memorial Health System

Kerry (Rerucha) Andrews of Glendale, Calif.
Director of Production, Prodco (a Disney Company)

John Atkinson of Burr Ridge, Ill.
Executive Vice President/Managing Partner, Willis Towers Watson

Hon. Manuel Barbosa of Elgin, Ill.
Retired U.S. Bankruptcy Judge, Northern District, METRA Board Member

Mary Ann Bobosky of Naperville, Ill.
President, Advocates Building Communities, Retired, Administrator, Naperville Community Unit School District 203

W. Brand Bobosky of Naperville, Ill.
Attorney, Owner, Brand Realty Co.

Joe Broda of Lisle, Ill.
Mayor, Village of Lisle

Bruce Bronge of Lisle, Ill.
President, International Contractors Inc.

William E. Callahan of Ashburn, Va.
Offensive Line Coach, Washington Redskins

John Carpenter
President and CEO, Choose DuPage

Kenneth D. Carruthers of Chicago, Ill.
Business Development Consultant, KC Consulting

Pam Davis of Naperville, Ill.
CEO, Edward-Elmhurst Health Systems

Amania Drane of Darien, Ill.
Retired, Human Resources, State Farm Insurance

Sharon Durbin of Springfield, Ill.
President and CEO, Land of Lincoln Goodwill Industries

Greg Elliott of Naperville, Ill.
Chief Human Resources and Communications Officer, Ashland Inc.

Bev Patterson Frier of Naperville, Ill.
Retired, Business Owner

Kareem Irfan of Naperville, Ill.
Chief Executive Officer (Global Business), Cranes Software International and Board of Directors, Islamic Center of Naperville

Nicholas S. Giuliano of Hinsdale, Ill.
Chairman of the Board and Co-Chief Executive Officer, Pan-American Bank

Christopher Glover of Mesa, Ariz.
Councilmember, City of Mesa

Richard Grimley of Naperville, Ill.
Senior Vice President of Global Operations, Bell Corporation

Kathy Hopinkah Hannan of Wheaton, Ill.
National Managing Partner of Diversity and Corporate Social Responsibility, KPMG, LLP and National Board President, Girl Scouts of the USA

Erik Johnson of Wheaton, Ill.
Medical Director – Pediatric Services, Alexian Brothers Health System

John F. Knobloch of Naperville, Ill.
Attorney, Knobloch Law Firm

William Kottmann of Naperville, Ill.
President and CEO, Edward Hospital

Anthony McCain
Vice President Resources Management, Nicor Gas

John McGuinn of Berkeley, Calif.
Retired, Sr. Vice President/Assistant General Counsel, Bechtel Corp.

Rev. James Miller of Lisle, Ill.
Senior pastor, DuPage AME Church

Mary (Thomas) Nicholas of Seattle, Wash.
Director, Genomic Resources, Kaiser Permanente

Deborah Pagel of Cave Creek, Ariz.
Senior OD Advisor, Boeing/ Defense & Space Consultant, International

Sarah Peacey of Plainfield, Ill.
Manager, Advisory, People and Change –Talent Management, KPMG, LLP

Christopher J. Pohlman Jr. of Westmont, Ill.
Senior Managing Director, Mesirow Financial

Torian Richardson of New York, N.Y.
Board President, GlobalMindED

Jim Ryan of Elmhurst, Ill.
Former Illinois Attorney General and Center for Civic Leadership Founder

John R. Steffek of Geneva, Ill.
Retired, Financial Advisor/Registered Representative, KB Elliot

Omer Sultan of Hinsdale, Ill.
Finance Director, Northwestern Memorial HealthCare

Dalitso Samson Sulamoyo of Springfield, Ill.
President and CEO, Illinois Association of Community Action Agencies

Jeffrey K. Swallow of Naperville, Ill.
Owner, President and CEO Magnetrol International Inc.

Joseph Ward of Evergreen Park, Ill.
Recreation Guest Experience Manager, Art of Animation and Pop Century Resorts, Walt Disney World Resort

Joan Wrenn of Oak Park, Ill.
CEO, Hudson Precision Products

Dana R. Wright of Oak Park, Ill.
Chief Executive Officer, Cook County Sheriff's Office

Kathleen Yosko of Glen Ellyn, Ill.
President and CEO, Marianjoy Rehabilitation Hospital

To view the members and professional profiles of the President’s Planning Advisory Committee, please visit

Benedictine University is a leader in values-based education and provides traditional, adult and graduate programs in Illinois, Arizona, China and Vietnam.

For more information about Benedictine, please visit


Benedictine University is located in Lisle, Illinois, just 25 miles west of Chicago, and has branch campuses in Springfield, Illinois, and Mesa, Arizona. Founded as a Catholic university in 1887, Benedictine enrolls nearly 9,000 students in 56 undergraduate and 20 graduate programs. Forbes magazine named Benedictine among "America's Top Colleges" for the sixth consecutive year in 2016. A 2016 PayScale Inc. report ranked BenU one of the top 10 colleges in Illinois for return on investment and in the top 20 percent nationally. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission ( For more information, contact (630) 829-6300, or visit

Marketing and Communications

Trente Arens
Director of Enrollment Marketing
Marketing and Communications
(630) 829-1948
Benedictine University Lisle Campus